A Different Way To Everest

​I found out recently that the classic route isn’t the only way to reach Everest Base Camp in Nepal. I’ve just been the hard way!

Sean McBride
8 min readApr 10, 2023
Kathmandu from a hotel window.

When I took the picture above… I was the other end of a long flight, too far away to go home. I was sharing this room with a stranger who became a good friend. Anticipating a trek which I hoped would become an adventure and that I would be up to the challenge of completing it. It did and I was.

​Kathmandu, reputed to be one of the oldest cities in the world is the start and end point of any trek to Everest. The ancient city sprawls over the floor of the Kathmandu Valley with a population of close to a million people. It is littered with shopping malls and ancient Buddhist Temples. An offshoot of the Ganges River, sacred in the Hindu faith, passes through the city and bodies are cremated on its banks.

The Varja (Pictured above) symbolises peace, wisdom, and light. Prayer flags coloured to represent the…

--

--

Sean McBride

I am an Adventure Travel Writer who provides the inspiration to help people live their finest moments through adventures https://travel-writer.uk